EXCITING BOOK NEWS! MY JOURNEY TO UNDERSTANDING INCLUSION AND PUBLISHING “NEURODIVERSITY IN THE WORKPLACE”…

Almost two and a half years ago, I was lost, confused, and didn’t know where or if I’d ever really “fit in” in at work. I’d worked as a youth worker for years, and had also trained as a journalist, and knew that writing was what I was good at, alongside being able to engage with the young people I worked with. Something, I often described as being my “only strength”. I have a strong sense of justice (literal words from an old school report) and so, would fight for the young people I worked with, to ensure they were supported, listened to and that they felt heard. I often felt under-appreciated by managers at work, and if I was given praise, it didn’t seem genuine. What does work mean for my neurodivergent brain I asked myself? I never found the answer. Until I did. I changed jobs in 2022, and physically felt the anxiety I had inside me from previous workplaces , relax. Almost as if it said, “You’re good now, My job is done. I think you’re going to like it here”. It was a strange feeling. Is this real? When is it going to go wrong? So far, it hasn’t gone wrong, although trauma responses still make me wait for the failure that I am sure is imminent, and will strike at any moment.

One evening, I was chatting to my best friend on the phone, and telling her all about my new job and how happy I felt there. “It’s just amazing, there’s this, this and this…” I shared, as I talked through what I later realised is what workplace inclusion feels like. There was silence. And then she said:

Those words stayed with me. I was 33 and I didn’t know what inclusion or feeling accepted at work was, when it was literally smacking me in the face. Sadly, it’s far too common for neurodivergent people to never experience workplace inclusion and acceptance. Many of us don’t feel valued by an employer. And many more won’t dare disclose for fear of discrimination, prejudice and bullying. I know this worry all too well, having experienced workplace bullying as an adult in more than one job, but at the time I couldn’t bring myself to call it bullying, the same breed of what I’d experienced on the school playground over 20 years ago. In typical Alice style, I wondered what I could do with this new found knowledge. I suddenly felt happier and more settled at work. I wanted to share this. So, I sat down and wrote a book about it, and the words almost fell out onto the page. I wrote about previous workplace trauma, and importantly what inclusion should look and feel like for ND folk. I shared what psychological safety means, how to create community and sense of belonging, and the tools for building and designing a workplace where we (whatever our differences) feel comfortable being ourselves in. Life is too short to be worrying about where we spend the most of our time, and to be constantly counting down to 5pm on a Friday. I wanted my book to be a source of hope for the neurodivergent community, an aid to advise employers to improve practices, and a guide that uses my experience to show others that there can be an alternative, and it is possible for people with a neurodivergent brain who may think differently; to feel cared for, included and appreciated at work. I wrote this book for all of you, who either love a neurodivergent brain, employ one or are one yourselves.

I am delighted to share that with the support from the wonderful people at Cherish Editions and Literally PR my book has now reached the stage of publication, and will be out in the world on the 25th April 2024, both as an e-book and print edition.

To celebrate the release of my book, I’m hosting an online launch, where you are invited to join me to celebrate one of the biggest achievements of my life. Feel free to bring a drink, snacks, pets (especially cats) or children along too. I’ll share more on why I wrote the book, what i’ve learned writing it and will thank a few people who have supported me along the way. I might even share a reading from some of my favourite sections of the book. There will also be a Q&A session where you can ask questions, so do have a think and even better if you can send them to me in advance. Writing a book is an achievement, and it would mean the world to mark it with the people who have followed and supported my writing over many years.

I’d like to leave you with this, and exerpt from my book, that summarises perfectly why seeing my words in print means so much to me:

That school girl who had extra time in exams, endless school reviews that focussed on everything she found hard and a statement for Special Educational Needs, would have never imagined that one day she’d write and publish a book. So this really is very special.

You can pre-order “Neurodiversity in the Workplace: How to create an inclusive and safe environment here. You can also find more about the book, my writing or possible future events on my website: alicehewson.com. Please do share with anyone who may be interested, and I can’t wait for my words to finally be in the hands of readers, and to celebrate with some of you on Thursday!

This entry was posted in ADHD, Dyspraxia, Inclusion, Mental health, Neurodiversity, Occassions, The workplace, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment